Author Topic: Tutorial: Source Filmmaker for intros, posters and other [SFM]  (Read 4170 times)

Offline KITAEC

• View Profile

There’s a program that can help you make more interesting-looking intros, outros and other stuff - Source Filmmaker. You can download it on Steam for free (click on image above). I’m no expert with it, but I can guide you through the basics and especially models. I don’t know if it will help somebody or not, but I will try. In this tutorial I’ll be talking mostly about models. At some point it was a problem for me, so I thought I should share with you. That way, if you’ll be starting out in SFM, it won’t be a big problem for you :) For other things like cameras, overlays, effects, slow motion, etc check “More complex covering of tools and other things” below. Of course, I could do it all myself, but those people know better and talk better. Making a video isn’t available for me right now and reading isn’t always helps the way it should, so please, check them out.

Before we start, keep in mind these little things:
MODELS folder is for 3D files of the model
MATERIALS folder is for 3D model’s texture files

NOTE: Again, I’m not a pro, I can make mistakes, sorry

TOMMY VERCETTI MODEL

Now of course, there is people who don’t use Tommy as their player model, but I’ll have to explain about it later. There will be a similar process, so it’s easier to focus on Tommy for now.
We already have Tommy model from GMod (made by Voikanaa) with biped rig inside, so all you have to do is download it from here:

DROPBOX
NOTE: you can use GM models too, but you have to purchase and install GM first. Then download models from workshop, go to workshop folder(in GM folder) and you will see them there.

Let’s say you've downloaded SFM (Important thing: you should get TF2 as well, so SFM can run properly).
Find your Steam folder and go to \steamapps\common\SourceFilmmaker\game\usermod