Author Topic: SA/VC Mission Coding Troubleshooting  (Read 16910 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Neo Anderson

  • ATS precision whore
  • Veteran Member
  • Posts: 5079
  • Registered on: April 16, 2004
    • View Profile
SA/VC Mission Coding Troubleshooting
« Reply #30 on: September 27, 2008, 11:21:12 AM »
00AF: set_car_driver_behaviour  400?? 4?


- use following bits for behavior (simply add the second values together) -
0000 - . - go nowhere
0001 - 1 - follow road, drive back if way is blocked
0010 - 2 - kill the player
0100 - 4 - drive to player and stop
1000 - 8 - ignore road-paths

Offline Labiloute

  • Veteran Member
  • Posts: 2502
    • View Profile
    • YouTube Channel
SA/VC Mission Coding Troubleshooting
« Reply #31 on: September 27, 2008, 11:53:56 AM »
Quote from: morbidxxx
I changed something from the Neo's tutorial script and that happened.
Anyways is it possible to "unfreeze" the camera from player and move it around like in SA? I once did it but I have no idea how it happened. I lost the script too :/

EDIT: Ok, got another question. How can I make the car to follow the road?
You mean a free camera with camhack ? or a camera like XSA eminence or ats the awakening intro

Offline morbidxxx

  • Veteran Member
  • Posts: 4093
    • View Profile
SA/VC Mission Coding Troubleshooting
« Reply #32 on: September 27, 2008, 11:54:28 AM »
Ok got another problem. The car just keeps going to the same location all the time. It doesn't stop or turn where I want, just keeps going.

Here is the code btw
:Label0087B3
0001: wait  1000& ms
02C2: car  400?? drive_to_point -267.01!  -303.38!  10.29!
00AD: set_car  400?? max_speed_to  10!
00AF: set_car_driver_behaviour 400?? 1?
0001: wait  9000& ms
0002: jump ££Label0087E2


Labiloute: I mean like you can rotate the camera around the player without any camhacks or anything.
« Last Edit: September 27, 2008, 11:57:04 AM by morbidxxx »

Offline Labiloute

  • Veteran Member
  • Posts: 2502
    • View Profile
    • YouTube Channel
SA/VC Mission Coding Troubleshooting
« Reply #33 on: September 27, 2008, 12:33:59 PM »
Hum, sry i havent got vc atm, i cant help you for this script. I will download it again very soon

Offline kaneda

  • Veteran Member
  • Posts: 2338
    • View Profile
    • @pump_upp - best crypto pumps on telegram !
SA/VC Mission Coding Troubleshooting
« Reply #34 on: September 27, 2008, 03:53:21 PM »
morbidxxx - I'll ask if you've placed an actor in that car, and if so, what opcode did you use to put the actor in the car? If not, try replacing:

Code: [Select]
02C2: car 400?? drive_to_point -267.01! -303.38! 10.29!
with:

Code: [Select]
00A7: unknown_car  400?? drive_to  -267.01! -303.38! 10.29!
That can sometimes work. Don't ask me why   .

Also, you can move the cam independent of the player with opcodes like:

Code: [Select]
015F: set_camera_position  X!  Y!  Z!  0!  0!  0!
0160: point_camera  X!  Y!  Z!  1?
0460: set_camera_pointing_time  0!  1500&

- and you can use other opcodes to point the camera at a specific element

Code: [Select]
0159: camera_on_ped  9164??  15?  1?
0157: camera_on_player $PLAYER_CHAR  15?  1?
0158: camera_on_vehicle  3156??  15?  1?

(The 1? at the end of the above opcodes, and the point_camera opcode designates a moving camera, rather than a jump cut)

Circling the cam around the player (or an actor or vehicle) is tough though. The camera simply doesn't arc - it can only move in a straight line. Cam-hacks mouse modifier option can do it, but because it's a free-hand mouse movement, it can tend to look clunky.

Offline Raining

  • Veteran Member
  • Posts: 1265
    • View Profile
SA/VC Mission Coding Troubleshooting
« Reply #35 on: October 01, 2008, 10:36:41 AM »
How I can pick what weather is in my script? And I do want rain weather, so how I can chance the color of it original to red?
« Last Edit: October 01, 2008, 12:08:20 PM by Raining »

Offline kaneda

  • Veteran Member
  • Posts: 2338
    • View Profile
    • @pump_upp - best crypto pumps on telegram !
SA/VC Mission Coding Troubleshooting
« Reply #36 on: October 01, 2008, 01:26:51 PM »
Creating a simple thread like this:

Code: [Select]
:weather
0001: wait  50? ms
01B6: set_weather  1?
0002: jump ££weather

will keep the weather locked into one type. Weather types are designated by the 1?, and the flags are as follows:

0 = Sunny
1 = Cloudy (in the above example)
2 = Rainy
3 = Foggy
4 = Perfect weather
5 = Stormy

Offline Raining

  • Veteran Member
  • Posts: 1265
    • View Profile
SA/VC Mission Coding Troubleshooting
« Reply #37 on: October 04, 2008, 04:19:17 AM »


Yea, I know, I do realy suck but why that msg comes? I cant open my VC with that main.scm

Offline kaneda

  • Veteran Member
  • Posts: 2338
    • View Profile
    • @pump_upp - best crypto pumps on telegram !
SA/VC Mission Coding Troubleshooting
« Reply #38 on: October 04, 2008, 04:31:04 PM »
The label that the error is referring to has no colon. It should be

:Label#######

and not

Label#######

Also, I don't know that you're code will work where it's placed. Check the tuts for proper thread placement. You have yours at the head of your script, but it would usually be placed anywhere after the "Main" thread. However, I've never tried placing threads at the head of the script, so can't really say if it works or not. Check Neo's tuts a bit closer.

Offline hakera

  • Posts: 280
    • View Profile
    • http://
SA/VC Mission Coding Troubleshooting
« Reply #39 on: October 04, 2008, 11:02:23 PM »
Quote from: kaneda
The easiest way would be to replace one ped model with the tommy model, and spawn that ped in repeatedly. Ya obviously can't get more than one 'player' into the game, but you can change out the models.
Where are the peds, I mean what names or somthing, are they in the GTA3.img?

Offline kaneda

  • Veteran Member
  • Posts: 2338
    • View Profile
    • @pump_upp - best crypto pumps on telegram !
SA/VC Mission Coding Troubleshooting
« Reply #40 on: October 05, 2008, 12:16:38 AM »
Easiest place to look for ped model names is in the default.ide listings. I'm sure there's also a ped reference list in the downloadable mods section.

EDIT: You can download the ped references here.
« Last Edit: October 05, 2008, 12:21:08 AM by kaneda »

Offline Raining

  • Veteran Member
  • Posts: 1265
    • View Profile
SA/VC Mission Coding Troubleshooting
« Reply #41 on: October 05, 2008, 12:21:19 AM »
Can you Kaneda (cause you are the guy, who most watch this topic ) place to main.scm that Neos script and then upload it, I wanna see what is with my ones wrong.
And this other question is maybe asked before, but I'm to lazy to check this full topic, so how I can make my skin to be model.

Offline hakera

  • Posts: 280
    • View Profile
    • http://
SA/VC Mission Coding Troubleshooting
« Reply #42 on: October 05, 2008, 01:51:50 AM »
Quote from: kaneda
Easiest place to look for ped model names is in the default.ide listings. I'm sure there's also a ped reference list in the downloadable mods section.

EDIT: You can download the ped references here.
10x a lot man

Offline kaneda

  • Veteran Member
  • Posts: 2338
    • View Profile
    • @pump_upp - best crypto pumps on telegram !
SA/VC Mission Coding Troubleshooting
« Reply #43 on: October 05, 2008, 01:52:12 AM »
Your first question I didn't really understand...so can you reword it a little better (sorry).

Your second question - I think you need to spawn your actor in as #NULL

Code: [Select]
009A:  28?? = create_actor  4? #NULL at  X!  Y!  Z!
Try that and see how you go. If that doesn't work, you may have to swap out a ped model/skin and use that as your actor.

Offline вαℓυ

  • Lord of The Underground
  • Veteran Member
  • Posts: 3662
  • Killerstunter
    • View Profile
    • http://uk.youtube.com/user/Balujan
Re: SA/VC Mission Coding Troubleshooting
« Reply #44 on: June 12, 2010, 12:07:40 PM »
Bumpity Bump.

Don't know if I'm going to get an answer but still gonna give it a shot, I just started learning scripting using Neo's introduction tutorial, it's basically Neo's script only at a different location, since I'm completely new to this, decided to make small changes then move on to big ones. Anyway, after both of the peds get off the vehicles and walk towards each other, just a second before one of the peds reaches the position, the game crashes. I can't figure out the problem at all.

---

Edit: Fixed it lol, sorry for the bump.
« Last Edit: June 12, 2010, 12:21:25 PM by Killerstunter »

 

SimplePortal 2.3.7 © 2008-2024, SimplePortal